One crafty birthday, part 2: Presents!

In this second installment of birthday mania, I want to just quickly show off a few gifts — all craft-related, of course. First, my friend Victoria came to my party on Saturday bearing these beautiful Moleskine cahiers with hand-decorated covers. I doted over them all night, and now they’re right here on my desk beside me, waiting for inspiration (or, more likely, the next few years’ dissertation deadlines) to strike.

I also found out, two days before my birthday, that I’d won this giveaway over at Sew She Sews. So, then, a day after my birthday, this whimsical mushroom fat quarter appeared in my mailbox and is now waiting for just the right project:

And finally, there’s one last gift I want to share. This was a gift to myself, although the thanks goes to my folks for the cash that allowed me to buy it. (Is 30 too old to be the recipient of birthday money? I think not.) It’s been a long time coming, and today, with the windows open to let in air that feels and smells like summer, I’m using this favorite new toy (a Gingher 45-mm rotary cutter, left-handed model) on a bit of mystery anniversary-gift sewing.

One thought on “One crafty birthday, part 2: Presents!

Leave a Reply

