Anniversary sewing: picnic placemats

It is a really ugly day here, with intermittent rain and constant gray skies — no way to spend a Friday, in my mind. (Especially because I was planning to plant the basil seeds that have been sitting on the kitchen counter for at least two weeks, now.) So I’ll look forward to brighter, more picnic-worthy days by showing you these placemats I made for Pete’s and my one-year anniversary.

The pattern is Lotta Jansdotter’s Picnic Placemat, from Simple Sewing. I’ve had the book for a couple of years, but surprisingly, this is the first pattern I’ve made from it. I found it remarkably easy and the instructions just detailed enough. The apples fabric is from Sandi Henderson’s Farmer’s Market line. I’m down, now, to the smallest bits of it; time to find a new small-project standby, I guess. I did just find Meadowsweet 2. Yum. Other suggestions?

4 thoughts on “Anniversary sewing: picnic placemats

    1. I know, right!? The website looks like it’s in the midst of a transition, so I’m having trouble figuring out when the new colorway will be available to non-wholesalers, but I’m willing to wait. De-licious!

Leave a Reply

