A few little things on Etsy

Hi, there. I’ve been taking advantage of a few rainy (OK, really, really rainy) days to put a few things in my Etsy shop. I’m starting small: Two weekends ago at the Printers Row Lit Fest here in Chicago, I scored some old maps of various U.S. states and cities—a couple California, an Oregon, a Missouri, and some Illinois. They called out, like these old maps several years ago, to be made into envelopes.

I’ve never tried selling on Etsy, partially because of the time shop upkeep takes, but mostly because everything on there is just so beautiful and well made. How could my little envelopes (or my little whatever) possibly be noticed amid so much loveliness? Well, I’ve decided to give it a shot, anyway. If nothing else, it’s a good excuse to keep making things, a good excuse to keep thinking, as I cut and fold and glue each map, about the person who might be out there wanting just that very thing.

Leave a Reply

